Scotland – Travel Day Getting There

I’ve actually been back in the states for a few weeks but I had a lot of stuff going on. In the next couple of posts I’m going to recount what I saw and did in the United Kingdom as well as a lot of the readings.

Travel Day

I have to be honest and say that I hardly ever fly. In November 2014 my friend Brandi and her husband Iain (both will be mentioned a lot in the next few posts) went to New York City, but before that my last flight was probably in 2006 so the thought of an international flight seemed a bit daunting.

I decided that my best option was to fly on as few planes as possible, so I flew out direct from Indianapolis to Newark and then from Newark to Edinburgh International Airport. Overall the flights were good, I had a nice layover between landing in Newark and departing for Edinburgh so I was able to grab a bite to eat before taking the shuttle to the international concourse. Not to mention find my gate, find out my gate had been changed and to get all the way across the giant terminal to where my new gate was. I sounds like I’m complaining but I’m really not. I also decided last minute to invest in a travel pillow, seriously a good decision and will be taking it with me when I fly in the future.

The flight was long, but luckily I was able to watch a movie of my choice (Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy and to get some sleep.

<strong. When You Wake Up, You'll be in a Different Time and Place

The best advice I got was to start taking immune system boosting vitamins (like vitamin C) and to drink plenty of fluids. So many people get sick before and after flying and since this was a one in a lifetime opportunity I really didn’t want to waste any time fighting illness. I don’t know if it was this or pure luck but I didn’t get sick!

The other bit of advice I got came in two parts, 1) Try to sleep on the plane and 2) try to adjust to the time change as quickly as possible.

I slept better on the plane than I thought was possible, but still not great. First of all, I was warned that it would be cold, but I underestimated how cold it would be. That said, I did my best to stay warm and get some sleep. I woke up about 45 minutes before landing and I think that’s when the adrenaline hit me. I was doing this, I was really about the land in Scotland, a country I’d only dreamed about visiting before, that there was no backing out, and I have to admit that I felt a little bit like I was both going to pee my pants from the excitement and throw up from the anxiety.

Luckily, I didn’t do either, I went through customs successfully, picked up my luggage and walked out into the airport, straight in the arms of my best friend, Brandi. Brandi has lived in Edinburgh for the last five years and provided me with more support for this trip than I can even begin to express.

So special thanks to Brandi Parris for not leaving me stranded in the airport, because everyone knows that would have been the start to a really bad trip.

Leave a Reply

