Article Review: Article One of Eleven Billion

At least it feels sometimes like I’m on part one of eleven billion. Though I do have to admit it’s probably my favorite part of this whole independent research thing – I get to read articles and books that are relevant to my subject, but also appeal to me. So while not everything that is going to occur under the “Bibliography” category will directly correlate to my research, it’s related to what I want to learn about in regards to this project. This project means a lot to me because it’s presenting me with an opportunity to explore and grow not only my professional knowledge, but for me to grow as a human being.

The first article I’ll be reviewing is:

Ryder, J. (2004). Can’t Get To the Library? Then We’ll Come to You. Health Information and Libraries Journal, 5-13.

Ryder’s article focuses on the following:

  • Mobile library services for elderly/people with disabilities
  • deposit collections
  • home visits
  • Specialty library transport

This article focuses on home bound users and show that while services do exist they aren’t always advertised out of fear that the library will be overwhelmed with requests. This actually makes a lot of since when you consider than in 2001/2 The Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy (CIPFA) Public Library Actuals estimated that the number of patrons receiving some type of housebound service was 123,407 in the United Kingdom. Ryder goes on to explore how the countries use a combination of professional, paraprofessional and volunteer staff to provide these service.

What does this have to do with Public Libraries and Generation Millennials? Well, for one thing it’s important to keep in mind that there are Millennials that are home bound – disabilities impact people of all ages. Not to mention many of the services that appeal to people who are home bound may appeal to Millennials who are not home bound. For example, electronic resources that can be downloaded from home are likely to appeal to individuals who cannot physically visit the library, as well as appealing to the “get it now” desire that is common in Millennials.

Keep in mind, I fall into this age group, and while I visit both the library I work at and my local public library regularly I am a big fan of e-content. I use ebooks from my public library, use the streaming video service that it offers and make sure I download my freegal music every week but I also utilize traditional library services. But let’s be honest, I think we’ve all had that moment where we really, really wanted something and through e-content that material is available instantly, something that benefits lot of people.

Leave a Reply

