Sons From Afar

Title: Sons From Afar
Author: Cynthia Voigt
Medium: Trade Paperback

Last year Two years ago I read Cynthia Voigt’s books Homecoming and Dicey’s Song. The first two books in the series about the Tillerman Children, whose mother abandons them and the four children, led by the eldest sister Dicey make their way to their Grandmother’s home.

I skipped a few books in between, A Solitary BlueThe Runner, and Come a Stranger, but I was cleaning and found my copy of Son’s From Afar, and decided to give it a go because it’s a short book, I have a lot of books that I need to get around to reading, and it’s a beautiful Saturday that was perfect for sitting out on my balcony with a book. Oh and I like Voigt’s writing style.

This book focuses on the two Tillerman boys, James (15 almost 16) and Sammy (12). Dicey makes an appearance when she comes home from college, but she seems different. She’s still the same, strong independent Dicey Tillerman but she very easily could have not come home in this book.

I still am not a big fan of James as a character. He’s significantly less annoying in this book than he was in the other two, but that’s not saying much. I know that it’s a clear indication that James is emotionally stunted and insecure about himself physically, he really needed a lot more personal growth than I think we see in Sons from Afar Sammy on the other hand, was a whiny six-seven year old who said “good-o” way to much, but he’s not like that anymore. I think emotionally Sammy is facing a lot of the same problems James is, but makes up for it with physical strength and a tough guy bravado. Sammy’s weakness is on his sleeve though, when James brings up the idea of their father, a man who abandoned their mother before Sammy was even born, Sammy gets angry. You see a full range of emotions from Sammy, anger at being abandoned, the desire for love and acceptance through is friend Robin’s family, the shame of having people ask about his parents. So where James seem overly braggy, you see Sammy’s youth and vulnerability.

I wasn’t planning on reading another Tillerman book but I want the closure I think reading Seventeen Against the Dealer will bring. Plus the book is only 233 pages, I should be able to knock that out in a few quiet hours. I also ended up putting the other three books on hold even though they don’t focus on the main characters. Instead they focus on Sammy’s namesake, Sam “Bullet” Tillerman, and Dicey’s friends Jeff and Mina.

Overall Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

