Fifty Pages of Plot

Reading The Rainbow: Book 36, 37, and 38
Title: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed
Author:E.L. James
Medium: eBook

Unlike my reading of Twilight, I read all of these by choice. Honestly, everyone was reading them and I wanted to know what all of the hype was about. Since the first one lacked any real plot I read the second, and then the third because I had already read 2/3rds of the trilogy. You can look around the internet and find lots of reviews, critics and snark of the Fifty Shades books and so there is very little that I can say that hasn’t been said before. These books are bad, there are characters that I liked (namely Christian’s mom and . . . yeah, that’s about it, I liked Christian’s mom) but for the most part the series is about a girl who falls in love with a boy who probably isn’t that good for her. You can read about how bad the grammar is all over the internet, you can read about the tampon sex scene, or any of the myrad of other scenes in the book that are just bad pretty much in any book blog (or video blog – my favorites are this one by Thriftyathome and this tipsy one by Smoothiefreak/AkilahObviously)

Unlike Twilight, which I read earlier this year because of a $20.00 bet, Ana Steele does have goals and thoughts outside of Christian Grey (unlike Bella Swan her Twilight doppelganger) but it doesn’t change the fact that the books are an excuse to have about fifty pages of plot thrown among tons and tons (and tons – who am I kidding) of sex. It doesn’t change the fact that the relationship between Ana and Christian isn’t a healthy depiction of one anymore than Twilight is and I’d probably have a serious if not awkward conversation with my young nieces if I thought they were going to read them

Overall Rating: One star for all three, so .333 for each. I’ve read better in every single category this book falls into. Also, E.L. James need an editor, an American editor because some of the slang was just jarring in how wrong it is.

Leave a Reply

