Reading The Rainbow: Book 34
Title: Unbearable Lightness: A Story of Loss and Gain
Author: Portia De Rossi
Medium: Audiobook

Portia De Rossi narrates her own book which brought me to two conclusions, one that she was going through way more on Ally McBeal than I ever could imagine, and two, that the way she pronounces the word “anything” really bugs me. It’s the only word she drops the “Y” in and it comes out “Ana Thing”, it’s complete irrelevant but it really did throw me for a loop every time it was said.

I remember the first time I saw Portia De Rossi on Ally McBeal and even as a kid I thought she was perfect, tall blonde with long hair and absolutely gorgeous, little did I (or apparently anyone else) know, she was battling both anorexia and bulima off and on for years. Unbearable Lightness follows Portia from her life as young Amanda Rodgers into her modeling carrier and up through her relationship with Ellen Degeneres. It really puts into perspective how much thought, effort and pain goes into having an eating disorder. While the book talks about her career, her relationships, her fear of admitting her homosexuality and her later fear of being outed, it all always came back to food and her exercise habits.

On one hand, it made me feel incredibly lazy for not finding time to exercise but on the other, it did make me see how for some people, exercise and dieting could become all they could think about. My only real problem is that the entire recovery takes place in the epilogue, it’s Portia De Rossi talking about how much better her life is in recovery, which is good, but the last chapter of the book talks about how she collapses on the set of a movie and how she is diagnosed with Lyme Disease and not an acknowledgement of disordered eating.

Don’t get me wrong, I generally like books that do this, and having read this the same year as reading James Frey’s A Million Little Pieces De Rossi gets right what Frey got wrong, the truth and the honesty behind the words is clear it just left me with this feeling of wanting that still hasn’t gone away.

Overall Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

