How to Survive a Robot Uprising

50 Books by Authors of Color: Book 47
Title: How to Survive a Robot Uprising
Author: Daniel H. Wilson
Medium: Audiobook

This was an audiobook I picked up randomly because I thought it would be funny. I was right, not only is it funny, it’s witty and also provides some interesting facts that I’ll be sure to remember in the event of a robot uprising.  Wilson manages to combine the real science of robotics with crucial information such as why they might be attacking as well as giving realistic ways to avoid them.

One of the two problems had with this book is that I was a bit disturbed to know that robots are being modeled after salamanders and geckos with the ability to walk on walls and ceilings. I’ve only seen a gecko twice, both times were on the same trip to Mexico and I swear the things were like pigeons, no one seemed to notice or care that “HOLY CRAP THERE’S A LIZARD ON THE CEILING” except for me. The other was that it really didn’t talk about movie robots. I was kind of expecting a “how to deal with HAL 9000 from 2001: A Space Odyssey” type of humor and a dissection of movies but it wasn’t that. It was more of a “hey, did you know that this college/company/the government built this type of robot and this is how you avoid/fight it”.

To be perfectly honest, after seeing last years The Road cannibalistic future is one of the few things that trumps my fear of a zombie apocalypse, which is one of the few things that scares me more than a robot uprising. While I really revel in the fact that my name is not Sarah Connor and that the T-1000 is not 1) trying to murder me or 2) trying to protect me, I’m glad Wilson wrote this book so I can fell protected for now.

In the event of a Robot Uprising I’m raiding this book from the nearest bookstore or library. I’ve identified a resource that will be useful.

Overall Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

