After Tupac and D Foster

50 Books by Authors of Color Book 3
Title: After Tupac and D Foster
Author: Jacqueline Woodson
Medium: Audiobook

After Tupac and D Foster is a story of three friends told in reverse. The narrator, (an unnamed teenage girl) reflects on the summer from a year ago, before her friend D Foster’s real mom took her away and before the death by shooting of rapper Tupac Shakur. Woodson does an excellent job of conveying the dual loss that the narrator feels and how both Tupac and D Foster had a deep and serious impact on her life as a twelve and thirteen year old girl. When I first checked this book out, I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about it. Due to my age when Tupac was alive I wasn’t a big fan, however one of my older sisters was and if my memory is correct was only a little older than the girls in Woodson’s book.

I do however remember many of the events that Woodson has the narrator reflect on, including the two shooting incidents. I was familiar with all of the songs that Woodson quoted, and she was quite masterful in her use of them. Having the narrator interpret them and reflect on them and how they relate to their life. Woodson’s work made me a little envious that my sister felt such a deep connection to Tupac and his music like the girls After Tupac and D Foster.

Overall Rating: 4/5 and the strong desire to buy this book for my older sister.

Leave a Reply

