A Very Long Book Meme

1. Favorite childhood book?
I’m a big fan of Number the Stars, The Giver, and A Summer to Die, all by Lois Lowry.

2. What are you reading right now?
I just finished “Krik? Krak” by Edwidge Danticat for one of my classes, I’m listening to
Speaker for the Dead” by Orson Scott Card in my car, and I’m reading “Wintergirls” by Laurie Halse Anderson on my e-book reader. I’m supposed to be reading “Rosencrantz and Gildernstern are Dead” by Tom Stoppard, but uh… yeah.

3. What books do you have on request at the library?
“In the Time of the Butterflies” By Julia Alvarez, “The Windup Girl” by Paolo Bacigalupi and “Stephen King’s N” by Marc Guggenheim.

4. Bad book habit?
Not reading enough.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?
A bunch of stuff, most of which is overdue. Books (that aren’t overdue) are “Voices” by Ursula K. Le Guin, “The Girl Death Left Behind” by Lurlene McDaniel, “Catering to Nobody” by Diane Mott Davidson,
“Daughters of Eve”  by Lois Duncan (which I doubt I’ll actually read) and “Moses, Man of the Mountain” by Zora Neale Hurston. In all I have twenty-four things checked out on my library card.

6. Do you have an e-reader?
Yes, I got one for Christmas from my lovely fiancé Michael.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
Because of school I’ve gotten in the habit of reading multiple books at once, but if one’s really interesting I tend to ignore the others.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
No. I think they changed when I started University (so that I read less than I did before) but I hope when I graduate this summer my reading habits will shift back.

9. Least favorite book you read this year (so far?)
“Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead”, I know, I know, it’s about making Shakespeare fun, but I got to the jokes about having sex with Alfred/Albert and I was just like “I don’t like this”.

10. Favorite book you’ve read this year?
I was pleasantly surprised by “Krik? Krak!” by Danticat, I mentioned above. I’d consider it to be my favorite so far.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
Honestly, not very often because I don’t have a lot of time to read, so I don’t  tend to read things that I think I won’t enjoy.

12. What is your reading comfort zone?
Mostly Fiction, Women’s/Feminist Literature, some fantasy and sci-fi, but not very much. A lot of teen fiction because it’s so dramalicious.

13. Can you read on the bus?
Yes, but not on the treadmill.

14. Favorite place to read?
The sofa or in bed.

15. What is your policy on book lending?
Hahaha, please just give it back! Michael actually got me a nifty “personal library kit” with date due cards and everything, I’ve not used it… yet.

16. Do you ever dog-ear books?
School books yes, because it’s way easier than to have a million slips of paper shoved in. Personal books, not usually.

17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?
School books, yes, all the time. Regular books, no, I don’t think I’ve ever had a reason to.

18. Not even with text books?
I totally do with textbooks.

19. What is your favorite language to read in?
English, since it’s the only language I speak fluently. I’d love to learn enough Spanish to read in it though.

20. What makes you love a book?
Relatable characters, even if it’s the bad character, if I feel like I can understand them, or relate to them, I’m going to really like the book way more than something I just can’t get into.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
If I finished it and if I think that the other person will enjoy it, even if I didn’t.

22. Favorite genre?
Dystopias like “The Giver” By Lois Lowry, “Brave New World” by Huxley, and post-apocalyptic dystopias, like “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins and “The Year of the Flood” by Margaret Atwood.

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?)
Non-Fiction by choice. I read a lot of it for school, but for my own interest, not nearly enough. Other than that, probably romance.

24. Favorite biography?
“Hiding My Candy” by the Lady Chablis, or “Callgirl” by Jeanette Angell

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?
Yes

26. Favorite cookbook??
500 Greatest Vegetarian, Indian recipes or something like that. I got it for like three dollars at a half-priced books.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?
This year? Uh, probably none, most inspirational book I’ve read lately were The Hunger Games trilogy.

28. Favorite reading snack?
Candy, like sweet n tarts.

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.
I can’t think of any.

30. How often do you agree with the literary critics?
I don’t read them because I like to form my own opinion on what I like.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
I don’t tend to feel bad because when I say something is bad, I mean it’s really just atrocious. And there’s only one book I’ve ever said that about (well, okay, there was also a proof that a friend sent me that was just awful but let’s not go there). If I say something is bad, it’s so bad that I couldn’t just ignore how bad it was and focus on the story or the writing, it pretty much had no redeeming qualities for me.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose?
Er, probably Spanish, since I understand that the best?

33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read?
I was quite proud of myself for finishing Moby Dick/

34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?
It’s not so much nervousness, because I’ve started it several times, but I just can’t get into War and Peace.

35. Favorite Poet?
Rumi

36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time?
Uh, at least five – ten but a lot of them are from school.

37. How often have you returned book to the library unread?
Only when someone else requests them! Otherwise I renew them until I get a chance to read them.

38. Favorite fictional character?
This is a hard question, possibly Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games, or Tobie from “The Year of the Flood”.

39. Favorite fictional villain?
Humbert Humbert from “Lolita” because his being a villain is questionable in his own mind.

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation?
Something that I own because I hate losing library books. The last time I was on vacation I took “Honolulu” by Alan Brennert as well as the first volume of 1001 Nights.

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading.
For fun? Several months, for school? About a week.

42. Name a book that you could/would not finish.
War and Peace, sorry Tolstoy, one day maybe.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
Knowing that I probably have something else I should be doing/reading. I very rarely read for fun because I almost always have homework to do.

44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel?
Uh, I have no idea.

45. Most disappointing film adaptation?
Where the Wild Things Are.

46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time?
A lot, I hate computer and science classes for this reason.

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?
I don’t usually skim.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through?
The book not being interesting, the writing being bad… life interrupting.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized?
I used too, since Michael and I moved in together we kind of… ran out of room for books, so it’s more of a “Hey there’s room in the closet, shove the Anne Rice in with the Forgotten Realms”.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them?
No, my mom made me get rid of a bunch of books when I went off to college, it was (I know this is so dumb) but it was traumatizing. I don’t even sell back my textbooks now. I must keep them all, even if they start to swallow me up. The other day I actually fell over a book that was on the floor (in the return to the library pile) but Michael and I thought it was hilarious because only in our apartment are books a hazard.

51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?
Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead, sorry professor I just don’t have any desire.

52. Name a book that made you angry.
We don’t talk about the last book in the Dark Tower series by Stephen King in my household. Michael knows better.

53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?
“Othello” okay, it’s a play and not a book, but I really thought I’d hate it and ended up just loving it.

54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?
Honolulu by Alan Brennert

55. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading?
V.C. Andrews, I’m not even going to pretend like I don’t love Vera from “My Sweet Audrina” and looked for a copy of “Heaven” when I was at Half-Priced Books the other day.

One thought on “A Very Long Book Meme

Leave a Reply

